tanawin.wordpress.com

the world as I see it

The Bed Pepe Slept In

Posted by BCS on November 8, 2008

“There are two skulls on display at the Rizal Shrine, one is that of Jose Rizal when he was still a boy and the other when he’s already grown up.”

I have already lost count of the times I’ve heard of that joke… and that goes the same for the number of times I saw people believing in that joke (even if just for a brief moment until realization set in).

To begin with, there is no skull on display anywhere in Fort Santiago, and Rizal’s remains are now lying peacefully beneath the Rizal Monument in Rizal Park.

There was, however, an exhibit of Rizaliana furniture held at the Baluarte de Santa Barbara in Fort Santiago when I went there last October 4. I just don’t know if the exhibit is still running today.

Among the pieces of furniture on display was this bed which, according to the description placed on it, is the bed used by Rizal when he was just a boy (in their home in Calamba, Laguna).

The bed Pepe slept in (Photo takn on October 4, 2008 at the Rizaliana Furniture Exhibit held at the Baluarte de Santa Barbara in Fort Santiago, Intramuros)

The bed Pepe slept in (Photo takn on October 4, 2008 at the Rizaliana Furniture Exhibit held at the Baluarte de Santa Barbara in Fort Santiago, Intramuros)

The bed is fairly small, such that if I were to lie down on it, my lower legs would extend well beyond the footboard (and I’m just 5’7”).

And it’s BEAUTIFUL!

Though, unlike the joke I mentioned earlier, this is the only bed on display. How I wish there was another one, one that Rizal used when he was all grown up.

3 Responses to “The Bed Pepe Slept In”

  1. carlota said

    i think jose is just as tall as me.. which is not much really at 4’11!! ahahha

  2. BCS said

    You’re just about as tall as my wife🙂

  3. May be the bed shown here is small but looks very cool and design table, dinner table and evry furniture displayed here is great design made.

Leave a Reply

 
