tanawin.wordpress.com

the world as I see it

Balik-SM Building Pasalubong Center (Sanchez Mira)

Posted by BCS on January 8, 2009

The sign on the wall of the Balik-SM Building Pasalubong Center fronting the highway

The sign on the wall of the Balik-SM Building Pasalubong Center fronting the highway

The Balik-SM Building Pasalubong Center is situated adjacent to the Rizal Park. The piece of property on which it is situated, according to my sister-in-law, is very soon going to be home to the extension/annex of the Town Hall.

Panorama shot of the site of the Balik-SM Building Pasalubong Center

Panorama shot of the site of the Balik-SM Building Pasalubong Center

The hut you see at the back of the property is an eatery and Sanchez Mirans know it by the name “Miss Nanang”. I have eaten there quite a number of times, by the way, and I must say the food served there are very tasteful… wonderful even. And, I must add, Miss Nanang (Auntie Sitay) is a very nice and jolly woman.

Miss Nanang's (Nanang Sitay) Eatery

Miss Nanang's Eatery

Nanang Sitay

Miss Nanang (a.k.a. Auntie Sitay)

My wife told me that it’s her children who do the cooking nowadays… I guess talent for cooking runs in their blood.

Auntie Sitay’s husband, by the way, used to be Sanchez Mira’s most popular photographer (according to my in-laws)… he doesn’t do any photography now, however.

I’ve been wondering… what would happen to Auntie Sitay when the site does undergo the development?

Well, according to my wife, Auntie Sitay’s eatery has moved to more or less 5 different locations in the past before arriving at its current location, so… I guess that’s short of saying that the eatery will most likely be still around when the development pushes through.

Oh, and the name, “Miss Nanang”? I’ve been informed that her past eatery was named that.

Leave a Reply

 
