tanawin.wordpress.com

the world as I see it

Baguio City

Posted by BCS on May 21, 2009

Panorama shot of Baguio City

Panorama shot of Baguio City

Baguio City will be celebrating its Centennial this coming September 1st (2009). It was on that day a hundred years ago when Baguio was declared a chartered city.

Famous for its strawberries, fresh flowers, vegetables, pine trees, and cool climate, Baguio’s been one of the Philippines’ must-go-to vacation spots (I’m very much tempted to add “for as long as I can remember” here, but then it’s been that long before I was born).

I can still remember when I was still in grade school, hearing my classmates tell about the numerous summer vacations they had spent in Baguio which often involved horseback riding in Wright Park, eating fresh strawberries, going to the Mines View Park, and a whole lot of other things. It all sounded so wonderful!

At the time, however, there was one thing the grown-ups (i.e., parents) kept fussing about each time Baguio is mentioned… potable water which, according to them, was quite hard to come by.

Many years would pass before I would get the chance to see the place with my own eyes… I was already in college then.

I remember being on the bus, excitedly waiting for it to come to a stop as it approached the terminal.

Maybe there was something wrong with the bus’s air-conditioning system, but I remember feeling relatively warm inside the bus that I was thinking to myself “I thought they said it was really cold here.” However, as soon as I stepped outside, I literally froze and started to shiver. I’ve never felt that cold all my life and I loved it! It was already dark that time, by the way, and it was drizzling.

Note: Daytime in Baguio is not as cold, but still a notch colder than the coldest temperatures we get here in Manila.

I have already lost count of how many times I’ve gone back there in the nine years that have passed since that “first” trip (though, I’m certain I’ve been there more than five times)… but still, I very much want to go back.

Below are some photos I took when we last went to Baguio (about a month ago)… If you haven’t gone there yet, believe me, Baguio City is quite an experience.🙂

But before we proceed to the pictures, here’s a bit of trivia for you… After ascending Kennon Road and arriving in Baguio on a horse, then Governor-General William Howard Taft sent a lengthy telegram to then United States Secretary of War Elihu Root on his ride. Reminded of Taft’s hefty built, Root sent a terse reply: “How’s horse?”

Our Lady of Atonement Cathedral

Our Lady of Atonement Cathedral

Cafe by the Ruins

Cafe by the Ruins

The Good Shepherd Convent (where you can buy all sorts of food stuff)

The Good Shepherd Convent (where you can buy all sorts of food stuff)

A jeepney parked outside Maines View Park

A jeepney parked outside Maines View Park

A trip to Mines View Park won't be complete without this picture

A trip to Mines View Park won't be complete without this picture

Panorama shot of the view at Mines View Park

Panorama shot of the view at Mines View Park

The Victory Liner Terminal

The Victory Liner Terminal

One Response to “Baguio City”

  1. yenrules said

    Hi BCS! It’s been a long time since I updated my blog. Well, I’ve been busy reviewing for the Nursing Licensure Exam, and tadaahh. Haha. I’m still waiting, the results are out in August pa. So yeah. I read that you explored Baguio! Sana you gotta have a chance to shoot some life stories at the Market near Burnham. Taga Baguio kasi ako. Hit me up on my blog na lang. Okie? Ingat! =D

Leave a Reply

 
